Filipino Music Charts and Countdown

Free Music. Lyrics. Filipino. Tunes.

Your Ad Here

List of nominees for 22nd Awit Awards

Posted by talk on Wednesday, December 02, 2009

The Philippine Association of the Recording Industry (PARI) continues to recognize the best in the industry and pays tribute to the musical achievements of 2008 through this year’s 22nd Awit Awards.

The annual recognition gives spotlight on performance, creativity, technical achievement, album packaging, excellence and music video. Apart from conferring the 27 top achievers such as Album of the Year and Song of the Year, PARI bestows the Dangal ng Musikang Pilipino or the Lifetime Achievement Award. This year’s recipient is Hotdog Band.

Who could forget Hinahanap hanap kita Manila, ang ingay mong kay sarap sa tenga?

Hotdog is credited for being one of the proponents of the Manila Sound. The group’s four decades of exceptionally contributing to the growth and improvement of the Original Pinoy Music (OPM) has definitely etched the group a place in the pages of OPM History.

Bellhaus Entertainment is producing the 22nd Awit Awards and adding the socio-civic heart of the Awit Awards. Typhoon victims are invited as special guests and will be treated to a free concert right after the awards proper.

In the running for the Best Performance by a Female Recording Artist award are Regine Velasquez, Charice Pempengco, Aiza Seguerra, Nikki Gil and Nina; while Gary Valenciano, Rico Blanco, Richard Poon, Bugoy Drilon and Rico Puno are the contenders for the male category. Competing for the coveted Song of the Year award are Betamax by Sandwich; Kailan by Bamboo; Penge Naman Ako Nyan by Itchyworms; Paano Na Kaya by Bugoy Drilon; and Yugto by Rico Blanco.

Music fans can vote for their favorites for the People’s Choice Award. They can text: AWIT VOTE — to 2982 — for Globe & Sun subscribers and 2952 for SMART subscribers for details. Fans can do text brigade to propel their most wanted for the Favorite Artist/s and the Song of the Year as votes can be monitored at the website until the evening of the awarding. Visit the website for the voting mechanics at

The 22nd Awit Awards will be held at Entertainment & Recreation Arena of the People (The Arena), San Juan City on Dec. 7. Pre-awarding ceremony will be staged at 5 p.m. Major awards proper is at 8 p.m. and a two-hour free concert follows. Sponsors are the Office of the Vice Mayor and City Council of Manila, Calayan Surgi Centre, Urban Luggage, Secosana Bags, Touch Solution, MyPortal, STI, BusinessWorld, PDI, Magic 89.9, Jam 88.3, Wave 89.1, RT and the City of San Juan.

Watch the live streaming of the award’s night by logging on to the website.


Subscribe to: Post Comments (Atom)